訂單超過免費送貨$50.

在伊拉克使用蜂蜜作為認知衰退和癡呆症的天然預防療法

菲澤爾·阿爾-希米亞里

醫學巴比倫大學,學院

https://www.researchgate.net/publication/245820416_The_use_of_honey_as_a_natural_preventive_therapy_of_cognitive_decline_and_dementia_in_the_Middle_East

https://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pmc/articles/PMC5424551/#ref49

抽象的

蜂蜜是大自然送給人類的最美妙的禮物之一。它具有獨特的營養和藥用特性。蜂蜜作為有記載的歷史很古老,它被用來治療健忘症。一項隨機、安慰劑對照、雙盲、為期 5 年的研究,涉及 2290 名認知完整的受試者和 603 名患有輕度認知障礙的受試者(總共 2893 名,65 歲及以上),隨機分配至每日一湯匙蜂蜜或安慰劑。蜂蜜被給予 1493 名受試者,而只有 1400 名接受安慰劑。每 6 個月進行一次癡呆症評估。該研究於 2003 年 11 月至 2008 年 11 月在伊拉克進行。總共只有 489 名受試者患有癡呆症。在接受安慰劑的受試者中有 394 名出現這種情況,而在接受蜂蜜的受試者中有 95 名(P 值 <0.05)。

蜂蜜及其特性被認為是認知能力下降和癡呆症的天然預防療法之一。它具有抗氧化特性,可增強大腦的膽鹼能係統和循環。需要進一步的研究來調查蜂蜜在減緩癡呆症進展方面的作用,以及它是否具有任何抗澱粉樣蛋白特性。

الخلاصة

يمتلكالعسلخاصيةغذائيةوخاصيةطبيةفينفسالوقتويعودتاريخهالىزمنالسومريينوالاكديينكماوقدذكرفيالقرآنالكريم,تمتهذهالدراسةعلىمدىخمسةسنواتفيالعراقاذكانمجموعالعينةالتياخذت2893وتتراوحاعمارهممن65سنةفمافوقوكان2290منهمذاتقابلية ذهنية طبيعية والمتبقي (603) هم في مرحلة انتقالية ما بين الطبيعي ومرض الخرف . لقداعطيالعسلبمقدارملعقةطعاميوميال1493شخصمنالعينةالكليةوالمتبقي(1400)شخصاعطواعقارمعينوكانتتجرىالفحوصاتالسريريةلهؤلاءالمجموعتينكلستةأشهروكانتالنتيجةانه489اصيبوابمرضالخرف(95فقطمنهمممنكانوايتناولونالعسلوالمتبقيمنهم394ممنكانوا يتناولونالعقارالطبيالمعين)ومنهذهالدراسةنرىانالعسلوخصائصهالطبيةيعتبرعلاجطبيعيوقائيضدمرضالخرفوضدالتدهورالتدريجيللذاكرةاذايمتلكخصائصضدالتأكسدويقويالدورةالدمويةللدماغلذاننصحبتناولالعسليوميالجميعفئاتالمجتمع。

介紹

蜂蜜是大自然送給人類最美妙的禮物之一。它具有獨特的營養和藥用特性。蜂蜜一詞源自阿拉伯漢文。這變成了德語中的珩磨和古英語中的 Huning。這個詞在英語中用作親暱的術語。

蜂蜜是一種粘稠的糖精物質,半透明,呈淺黃褐色,具有芳香氣味和甜味。一段時間後,它變得不透明和結晶。我們大多數人都知道蜂蜜是一種甜美的金色液體。但是,事實上,蜂蜜可以以多種形式存在。

蜂蜜作為文字歷史悠久,可以追溯到蘇美爾人(公元前 3100 年)和阿卡德人(公元前 2400 年)。楔形文字著作和赫梯法典(公元前 1350 年)中都提到過它。根據伊拉克文獻(Al-Jade , 1968; Al-Ahmed, 1974; Al-Baderi, 1975),蘇美爾人、阿卡德人和亞述人用它來治療老年人的健忘症。它被贈予古代美索不達米亞的國王,讓他們長壽(Al-Jade,1968 年;Al-Ahmed,1974 年;Al-Baderi,1975 年)。

1989 年,《皇家醫學會雜誌》(Zumla,1989 年)的一篇社論表達了“未受污染的純蜂蜜的治療潛力嚴重未得到利用。它在大多數社區中廣泛使用,儘管作用機制它的一些特性仍然模糊不清,需要進一步研究,現在是傳統醫學揭開這種傳統療法的盲點並給予它應有的認可的時候了”。

 

方法

研究對象的選擇:本研究於 2003 年 11 月至 2008 年 11 月在伊拉克巴格達和巴比倫教學醫院共招募了 2893 名 65 歲及以上的受試者。伊拉克或美索不達米亞 (Al-Himyari-2007) 是被認為是中東的心臟。它的人口為 27,499,638(2007 年估計)。伊拉克由四個主要地理區域組成。首先是該國西部西南地區的沙漠。二是底格里斯河上游和幼發拉底河上游之間的起伏高地(稱為半島)。三是該國東北部地區的高地。最後是底格里斯河和幼發拉底河所流經的沖積平原。伊拉克的氣候主要以沙漠或沙漠般的干旱條件為特徵。

對於這項研究,我們使用以下納入標準確定了受試者:基線時沒有癡呆診斷,基線時進行有效的認知測試以允許診斷輕度認知障礙 (MCI)。排除標準是智力低下、已知腦癌、帕金森病、嚴重虛弱或嚴重的感覺障礙導致無效的認知測試和抑鬱。根據精神疾病診斷和統計手冊,修訂版第三版標準(美國精神病學協會 - 1987)對癡呆症的定義,患有 MCI 的人被定義為認知能力下降、年齡不正常、不癡呆且功能活動基本正常的人。

 

所有研究組的特徵

所有研究組的特徵

正常認知

MCI

總數:

年齡

男號:

女號:

教育年限

>12 歲

< 12 歲

2290

72±6.81

1190

1100

400

1890年

603

78.76±6.8

303

300

201

402

 

每 6 個月進行一次評估,參與者在醫院、家中和電話採訪中接受采訪(Brandt等, 1988;Welsh,1993;Plassman,1994)。 75% 的參與者在家里和醫院接受了採訪。使用的主要工具是 SIDAM(結構化訪談,用於根據 ICD-10 和 DSM-I 診斷阿爾茨海默型癡呆、多發梗塞性癡呆和其他病因的癡呆)(Zaudig,1991)。

使用卡方和檢驗 2 個人口比例進行統計分析 (Wayne,1998)。

在這項雙盲、安慰劑對照的 5 年研究中,患者(2290 名認知完整的受試者和 603 名患有 MCI)被隨機分配到每天一湯匙蜂蜜或安慰劑中。蜂蜜被給予 1493 名受試者,而只有 1400 名受試者接受安慰劑。

結果

 在 2893 名受試者中,只有 489 名患有癡呆症(235 名之前有 MCI)。在接受安慰劑的受試者中有 394 名出現這種情況,而在接受蜂蜜的受試者中只有 95 名(p 值 < 0.05)。 12 年教育年限(345 名受試者)。僅 73 名受試者體重增加,體重指數在 27-30 之間。

 

討論

在一個由 2893 人組成的社區隊列中,我們發現服用蜂蜜的人比服用安慰劑的人更不容易患癡呆症(P<0.05)。儘管有幾項研究檢驗了 MCI 患者和無認知障礙的可比個體患癡呆症的相對風險(Bennett,2002;Larrieu,2002;Fisk,2003;Boyle,2006),但 MCI 患者的基線評分明顯較低,下降幅度更大每年在全球認知功能的測量上比沒有認知障礙的人快。

SIDAM的測試部分共55道題,包括簡易精神狀態檢查(MMSE)的全部30道題。測試涵蓋了神經心理功能的六個方面:1-定向,評估時間、地點和人的定向; 2-記憶力,通過單詞表和虛構姓名和地址的延遲口頭回憶來衡量,視覺再現延遲,對傳記知識和與一個人生活無關的歷史數據的問題;3-智力能力,通過抽象思維項目評估(差異,解釋慣用語的含義)和判斷(描述代表動作的圖片,以及合理性判斷); 4-語言能力和計算,通過計算連續七人制、反向拼寫和反向數字跨度來評估;5-構建能力(視覺-空間),通過應對數字來評估; 6-失語症和失用症,通過命名對象、閱讀和服從句子、寫句子和執行三個階段的命令來評估。

這項研究表明,受教育年限低於 12 年的個體患癡呆症(489 人中有 345 人)的比例更高。這凸顯了教育在延緩或加速癡呆症進展方面的作用。

有人可能會問,為什麼我們在研究中使用蜂蜜?答案是因為我們的祖先用它來治療健忘症,《古蘭經》中也推薦使用它“體內有問題(蜜蜂),一種顏色各異的飲料,其中對男人有治療作用”。我們得出結論,蜂蜜及其特性被認為是認知能力下降和癡呆症的天然預防療法之一。它具有抗氧化特性,可增強大腦的膽鹼能係統和循環。需要進一步的研究來調查蜂蜜在減緩癡呆症進展方面的作用,以及它是否具有任何抗澱粉樣蛋白特性。

參考

艾哈邁德 (1974)。古代伊拉克醫學,蘇美爾 J.,第 30 卷-巴格達;(94-98)。

阿爾巴德里 (1975)。伊拉克-巴格達歷史Al-Baderi系列; (1-28)。

Al-Himyari F. (2007)。美索不達米亞癲癇 3100-539 BC 神經病學;68 Supplement-1:A7.Abstract。

賈德 (1968)。巴比倫-亞述醫學-Sumer J., Vol.1-Baghdad;(191-206)。

美國精神病學協會。精神障礙診斷與統計手冊,第三版修訂。華盛頓特區:美國精神病學協會,1987 年。

Bennett DA Wlison RS、施耐德 JA等。 (2002)。老年人輕度認知障礙的自然史。神經病學;59;198-205。

Boyle PA、Wilson RS、Aggarwal NT、Tang Y.,(2006 年)。輕度認知障礙。阿爾茨海默病的風險和認知能力下降的速度。神經病學; 441-445。

Brandt J、Spencer M、Folstein M. (1988)。認知狀態的電話採訪。神經精神病學 Neuropsychol 行為。神經元;111-117。

Fisk JD、Merry HR、Rockwood K.(2003 年)。病例定義的差異會影響輕度認知障礙的患病率,但不會影響結果。神經病學; 61:1179-1184。

Larrieu S、Letenneur L、Orgogozo JM等。 (2002)。基於人群的前瞻性隊列中輕度認知障礙的發生率和結果。神經病學; 59:1594-1599。

Plassman Bl、Newmann TT、Welsh KA、Helms M、Breitner JCS。 (1994)。認知狀態電話訪談的屬性。在流行病學和縱向研究中的應用。 Neuropsychiatry Neuropsychol Behav Neurol,7:235-241。

韋恩·W·丹尼爾。生物統計學(1998)。健康科學分析基礎(7 版)美國版:John Wiley and Sons, Inc.

威爾士 KA、Breitner JCS、Magruder-Habib KM。 (1993)。使用電話篩查認知狀態檢測老年人的癡呆症。神經精神病學 Neuropsychol Behav Neurol ;6 103-110。

Zaudig M、Mittelhammer J、Hiller W等。西達姆:(199)。根據 ICD-10 和 DSM-111-R.Psychol Med 診斷阿爾茨海默型癡呆、多發性梗死癡呆和其他病因的癡呆的結構化訪談; 21:225-236。

Zumla A, Lulat A. (1989)。一種補救措施重新出現。 JR Soc.Med.;82:384-85。

Chinese (HK,TW)
Chinese (HK,TW)

Free shipping for orders over $50.

The Use Of Honey As A Natural Preventive Therapy of Cognitive Decline And Dementia In Iraq

Fizel Al-Himyari

University of Babylon, College of Medicine

https://www.researchgate.net/publication/245820416_The_use_of_honey_as_a_natural_preventive_therapy_of_cognitive_decline_and_dementia_in_the_Middle_East

https://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pmc/articles/PMC5424551/#ref49

Abstract

  Honey is one nature's most splendid gifts to mankind. It posses unique nutritional and medicinal properties. Honey is old as written history and it was used  to treat amnesia. A randomized, placebo controlled, double blind,5 year  study with 2290 cognitvely intact subjects and 603 with a mild cognitive impairment (total 2893 ,aged 65 and older),randomized to one daily tablespoon of honey or placebo. Honey was given to 1493 subjects, while only1400 received placebo. Dementia assessment was done every 6 months. This study was conducted in Iraq from Nov.2003 to Nov. 2008.As a total, only 489 subjects developed dementia. It was seen in 394 of those receiving placebo and only in 95 subjects receiving honey(P-value <0.05).

 Honey and it's properties is considered one of the natural preventive therapies of both cognitive decline and dementia. It has antioxidant properties and it enhances the brain's cholinergic system and circulation. Further studies are needed to investigate the role of honey in slowing the progression of dementia and if it has any antiamyloid properties.

الخلاصة

      يمتلك العسل خاصية غذائية وخاصية طبية في نفس الوقت ويعود تاريخه الى زمن السومريين والاكديين كما وقد ذكر في القرآن الكريم , تمت هذه الدراسة على مدى خمسة سنوات في العراق اذ كان مجموع العينة التي اُخذت 2893 وتتراوح اعمارهم من 65 سنة فما فوق وكان 2290 منهم ذات قابلية ذهنية طبيعية والمتبقي (603) هم في مرحلة انتقالية ما بين الطبيعي ومرض الخرف . لقد اُعطي العسل بمقدار ملعقة طعام يومياً لـ 1493 شخص من العينة الكلية والمتبقي (1400) شخص اُعطوا عقار معين وكانت تجرى الفحوصات السريرية لهؤلاء المجموعتين كل ستة أشهر وكانت النتيجة انه 489 اصيبوا بمرض الخرف (95  فقط منهم ممن كانوا يتناولون العسل والمتبقي منهم 394 ممن كانوا يتناولون العقار الطبي المعين ) ومن هذه الدراسة نرى ان العسل وخصائصه الطبية يعتبر علاج طبيعي وقائي ضد مرض الخرف وضد التدهور التدريجي للذاكرة اذا يمتلك خصائص ضد التأكسد ويقوي الدورة الدموية للدماغ لذا ننصح بتناول العسل يوميا لجميع فئات المجتمع .

Introduction

  Honey is one of nature's most splendid gifts to mankind. It possess unique nutritional and medicinal properties. The word honey is derived from the Arabic Han. This became Honing in German and Huning in old English. The word is used in English language as a term of endearment.

  Honey is a viscid, accharine substance, semitranslucent and light yellow-brown colour, with an aromatic odour and a sweet taste. After times, it becomes opaque and crystalline. Most of us know honey as a sweet ,golden liquid. But, infact ,honey can be found in a variety of forms.

Honey is old as written history, dating back to the Sumerians(3100 B.C.) and the Akkadians (2400 B.C.).It was mentioned in the cuneiform writings and in the Hittite Code(1350 B.C.).According to the Iraqi references(Al-Jade, 1968; Al-Ahmed, 1974;  Al-Baderi, 1975),the Sumerians, the Akkadians and the Assyrians used it to treat amnesia in the elderly people. It was given to the Kings in Ancient Mesopotamia offering them a longer life(Al-Jade, 1968; Al-Ahmed, 1974;  Al-Baderi, 1975).

 In 1989, an editorial in the Journal of the Royal Society of Medicine (Zumla, 1989) expressed the opinion"  The therapeutic potential of uncontaminated ,pure honey is grossly  underutilized. It is widely available in most of the communities and although the mechanism of action of several of it's properties remain obscure and needs further investigation, the time has come now for  conventional medicine to lift the blinds off this traditional remedy and give it it's due recognition".

 

Methods

Selection of the study subjects: A total of 2893 subjects ,aged 65 and older were recruited in this study at both Baghdad and Babylon Teaching Hospitals of Iraq from Nov.2003-Nov.2008.Iraq or Mesopotomia (Al-Himyari-2007) is considered the heart of the middle east. It's population is 27,499,638 (2007 estimate).Iraq is comprised of four main geographical regions. First is the desert in the west southwest area of the country. Second is the  rolling upland between the upper Tigris and Euphrates rivers (known as Al-Jazera).Third, the highlands in the north northeast region of the country. Finally the Alluvial plain through which the Tigris and the Euphrates rivers flow. The climate of Iraq is overwhelmingly characterized by desert or desert like arid conditions.

 For this study we identified subjects using the following inclusion criteria: No dementia diagnosis at baseline and valid cognitive testing at baseline to allow diagnosis of Mild Cognitive Impairment (MCI).Exclusion criteria were mental retardation, known brain cancer ,parkinson's disease, severe weakness or severe sensory impairment leading to invalid cognitive testing and depression. Those with MCI were defined as those with cognitive decline ,not normal for age  not demented and essentially normal functional activities according to the Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Dissorders, Revised Third Edition Criteria(American Psychiatric Association-1987) ) for Dementia.

 

Characteristics of all study groups

Characteristics of all study groups

 

Normal cognition

MCI

Total no:

Age

Male no:

Female no:

Education years

>12 years

< 12 years

2290

72 ± 6.81

1190

1100

 

400

1890

 603

78.76 ± 6.8

303

300

 

201

402

  

 

  At each assessment which was done every 6 months, the participants were interviewed at the hospital, at their homes and by telephone interview (Brandt et al., 1988,Welsh et al., 1993, Plassman, 1994). 75% of the participants were interviewed at home and hospital. The main instrument used was SIDAM(Structured Interview for Diagnosis of Dementia of Alzheimer type, Multi-Infarct Dementia and Dementia of other Etiology according to ICD-10 and DSM-I)( Zaudig , 1991 ).

 Statistical analysis was done using the Chi square and testing of 2 population proportions (Wayne ,1998  ).

 In this double blind, placebo controlled, 5 year study, the patients (2290 cognitively intact subjects and 603 with MCI) are randomized to one daily tablespoon of honey or placebo .Honey was given to 1493 subjects, while only 1400 received placebo.

Results

 Of the 2893 subjects, only 489 developed dementia (235 had a previous MCI).It was seen in 394 of those receiving placebo and only in 95 subjects receiving honey (p–value< 0.05).Dementia diagnosis was seen in those with less than 12 years education years (345 subjects).Weight gain was seen in 73 subjects only and their body mass index was between 27-30.

 

Discussion

 In a community-based cohort of 2893 individuals, we found that those taking honey were less liable to develop dementia (P<0.05) than those taking placebo. Although several studies have examined the relative risk of dementia among persons with MCI and comparable individuals without cognitive impairment (Bennett, 2002; Larrieu, 2002; Fisk, 2003; Boyle, 2006),persons with MCI had markedly lower baseline scores and declined considerably more rapidly each year on a measure of global cognitive function than those without cognitive impairment.

  The test part of SIDAM consisted of 55 items, including all 30 items of the Mini-Mental State Examination(MMSE).The test covers six areas of neuropsycological function:1-Orientation,assessing the orientation of the time, place and person; 2-memory,measured by delayed verbal recall of a word list and a fictitious name and address, delayed visual reproduction, questions on biographical knowledge and on historical data unrelated to a person's life;3-intellectual abilities, assessed by items of abstract thinking (differences, explaining the meaning of idiomatic expressions), and judgement (describing pictures representing actions, and plausibilityjudgement); 4-verbal abilities and calculation, assessed by calculating serial sevens, spelling backward, and backward digit span;5-constructional abilities (visual-spatial), assessed by coping figures; and 6-aphasia and apraxia ,assessed by naming objects, reading and obeying a sentence, writing a sentence, and performing a three-stage command.

This study revealed  dementia diagnosis (345 out of 489)was  more in individuals with education years less than 12 years. This highlightens how education plays a role in delaying or accelerating  the progression of dementia.

 One might ask ,why did we use honey in our study? The answer is because our ancestors used it to treat amnesia and it's use  is also recommended in the Holy Koran "There issues from within their bodies(bees),a drink of varying colours, wherein  is healing for  men" . We conclude that honey and it's properties is considered one of the natural preventive therapies of both cognitive decline and dementia. It has antioxidant properties and it enhances the brain's cholinergic system and circulation. Further studies are needed to investigate the role of honey in slowing the progression of dementia and if it has any antiamyloid properties.

 

References

Al-Ahmed (1974). The Ancient Iraqi Medicine, Sumer J.,vol.30-Baghdad;(94-98).

Al-Baderi (1975).  Series of Al-Baderi of History of Iraq- Baghdad; (1-28).

Al-Himyari F. (2007). Epilepsy in Mesopotamia 3100-539 B.C. Neurology;68 Supplement-1: A7.Abstract.

Al-Jader, (1968). The Babylonian-Assyrian Medicine-Sumer J.,Vol.1-Baghdad;(191-206).

American Psychiatric Association. Diagnostic and Statistical manual of mental disorders, third edition-revised. Washington DC: American Psychiatric Association, 1987.

Bennett DA Wlison RS, Schneider JA, et al. (2002). Natural history of mild cognitive impairment in older persons. Neurology ;59;198-205.

Boyle PA, Wilson R.S., Aggarwal N.T., Tang Y., (2006). Mild Cognitive Impairment. Risk of Alzheimer disease and rate of cognitive decline. Neurology; 441-445.

Brandt J, Spencer M, Folstein M. (1988). The telephone interview for cognitive status. Neuropsychiatry Neuropsychol Behav. Neurol ;111-117.

Fisk JD, Merry HR, Rockwood K. (2003). Variations in case definition affect prevalence but not outcomes of mild cognitive impairment. Neurology; 61 :1179-1184.

Larrieu S, Letenneur L ,Orgogozo JM, et al. (2002). Incidence and outcome of mild cognitive impairment in a population-based prospective cohort. Neurology; 59:1594-1599.

Plassman Bl, Newmann TT, Welsh KA, Helms M, Breitner JCS. (1994). Properties of Telephone interview for cognitive status. Application in epidemiological and longitudinal studies. Neuropsychiatry Neuropsychol Behav Neurol , 7:235-241.

Wayne W. Daniel. Biostatistics (1998). A foundation for analysis in the health sciences (7th ed.)U.S. edition: John Wiley and Sons, Inc.

Welsh KA, Breitner JCS, Magruder-Habib KM. (1993). Detection of dementia in the elderly using telephone screening of cognitive status. Neuropsychiatry Neuropsychol Behav Neurol ;6 103-110.

Zaudig M, Mittelhammer J, Hiller W, et al. SIDAM: (199). A structured interview for the diagnosis of dementia of Alzheimer type, multiinfarct dementia and dementia of other aetiology according to ICD-10 and DSM-111-R.Psychol Med; 21 : 225-236.

Zumla A, Lulat A.(1989). A remedy redisdovered. JR Soc.Med.;82:384-85.

 

English
English